Alabama vaping laws are changing and you won’t believe why. Even though it’s legal to vape in Alabama, that doesn’t mean there aren’t rules. The state of Alabama has made some changes to their vaping laws recently and this post is going to go over what those changes were and how they’ll affect vapers.
Is it legal to vape in Alabama? Yes, it is legal to vape in Alabama but there are certain regulations and laws relating to their use. These regulations cover age, purchasing restrictions, alongside where and how vapes can legally be used.
Vaping Age in Alabama
What is the legal vaping age in Alabama? To legally vape in state of Alabama, you must be 21 years old. This change has only been in effect since May 2021, with the legal age having previously been 19.
The law applies to all kinds of tobacco and electronic devices and relates to purchase, possession, and transportation of those products.
Buying Vape in Alabama
How old do you have to be to buy a vape in Alabama? You must be at least 21 years old to purchase or use a vape in the state of Alabama. The new age restriction came into force in May 2021 when the age was lifted from 19 to 21.
This decision was made due to health concerns with questions being raised over what role vapes should be playing in nicotine use in Alabama.
Can you buy a vape at 18 in Alabama? No. You cannot buy a vape in Alabama unless you are at least 21 years old.
While the age limit has recently been lifted to 21, it was previously set at 19 meaning that you have never been able to buy a vape at 18 in Alabama.
Can you buy flavored vape juice in Alabama? You cannot buy flavored vape juices in the state of Alabama. Since January 2020, it has been illegal to sell flavored vape cartridges.
As a result of this rule, suppliers are only legally allowed to sell menthol or tobacco flavored vapes or nicotine products. This decision was taken in a bid to dissuade young people from using the devices.
Vaping Indoors in Alabama
Can you vape indoors in Alabama? Yes you can vape indoors in Alabama. At the moment there has been no official changes made to the Alabama Clear Air Act of 2003, meaning that vaping is not currently included in the official indoor smoking ban.
However, it’s important to check the details for your local area because the following municipalities have chosen to prohibit vaping where smoking is also banned. Some of these have excluded restaurants and bars from the ban.
The following areas do have restrictions relating to vaping indoors:
- Mountain Brook,
- Vestavia Hills,
Vaping in Public Places in Alabama
Can you vape in a public place in Alabama? You can vape in public places in Alabama. At the moment, there are no state-wide restrictions govern the use of vapes in public places in the state of Alabama.
However, there are certain local and municipal restrictions that should be checked to ensure compliance with the local regulations. This is because some areas have chosen to implement their own regulations.
The following areas do have restrictions relating to the use of vapes in public places:
- Mountain Brook,
- Vestavia Hills,
Vaping While Driving in Alabama
Is it legal to vape and drive in Alabama? There are technically no laws that regulate the use of vapes while driving in the State of Alabama. However, there are broader laws that would be applicable to road safety.
For one, there might be concerns over ability to act if one hand is removed from the wheel and there could be concerns over the driver’s ability to concentrate on two things at once. There’d also be concerns over the vape cloud affecting visibility.
It is not illegal to vape while driving but if you do it should only be if you are confident that you can do so safely.
Is it legal to vape in a car with a child in Alabama? At the moment, it is legal to vape with a child in the car inside of the state of Alabama. However, this is something that is currently subject to change.
In February 2020, the Alabama House of Representatives passed a bill which would make it illegal to use a vape or nicotine product in the car with a child under 14. At the time of publishing this advisory post, the bill had been progressed to the Senate and whether or not it becomes law will be decided there.
Juul Pods in Alabama
What age can you legally buy Juul pods in Alabama? In the state of Alabama, you legally must be at least 21 years old to purchase Juul pods.
Are flavoured juul pods legal in Alabama? Only tobacco and menthol products are legal in the state of Alabama and all other flavours have been banned.
This decision was taken in a bid to prevent young people from wanting to purchase such devices and was only brought into effect in early 2020.
Alabama Vaping Laws
California Vaping Laws
Florida Vaping Laws
Illinois Vaping Laws
Indiana Vaping Laws
Massachusetts Vaping Laws
Michigan Vaping Laws
Montana Vaping Laws
Nebraska Vaping Laws
New Hampshire Vaping Laws
New York Vaping Laws
Ohio Vaping Laws
Texas Vaping Laws
Utah Vaping Laws