Vaping laws are changing all over the country, but Colorado’s new legislation is one of the most restrictive for vapers. The law restricts where people can vape indoors and bans it in public spaces including schools, hospitals, restaurants, bars and parks.
Is it legal to vape in Colorado? Yes. It is legal to vape in the State of Colorado but there are stringent restrictions on where, when and how you can use them.
In addition to statewide regulations and restrictions, there are also smaller municipal regulations that govern how they are used.
This article will clear up some of the questions that you might have relating to vaping in the state of California.
Vaping Age in Colorado
What is the legal vaping age in Colorado?
In the state of Colorado, the legal vaping age is 21 years old.
In fact, it is a criminal offence to try and purchase or use a vape if you are under the regulated age.
Buying Vape in Colorado
How old do you have to be to buy vape in Colorado?
You must be at least 21 years old to purchase a vape in the State of Colorado.
The age restriction applies across the entire state, making it an offence to purchase, attempt to purchase or use a vape if you are under 21 in the state of Colorado.
Can you buy vape at 18 in Colorado?
No. In the state of Colorado, you must be 21 years old.
In 2019, the federal law was changed, meaning that you now must be at 21 years old to purchase any tobacco related products, including vapes.
However, some areas of have chosen not to invoke this law and will therefore risk lose certain state funding.
Can you buy flavored vape juice in Colorado?
No. Currently, there is a statewide ban on the sale of vapes and anything else regarded as being a ‘closed system device’. At the moment, you are only legally permitted to purchase vapes in tobacco or menthol flavor.
In some areas within the state there are further flavor restrictions. This includes:
- Glenwood Springs
- Snowmass Village
Vaping Indoors in Colorado
Can you vape indoors in Colorado?
No. At a statewide level, you are prohibited from using you vape in any workplace, restaurant, or bar.
In addition, some areas of the state have also introduced their own further restrictions on indoor vape use. There are also some exemptions in other locality. So, it’s worth checking before you use your vape.
As with many other states, Colorado applies the same laws to vaping as they do to traditional smoking.
Vaping in Public Places in Colorado
Can you vape in public places in Colorado?
No. In the state of Colorado, you are prohibited from vaping in public places in most instances. This specifically includes bars, restaurants and workplaces.
However, some localities have exemptions, and some have additional restrictions, so it’s worth checking ahead before using your vape within the state.
Vaping While Driving in Colorado
Is it legal to vape and drive in Colorado?
Technically, yes because there are no state-wide laws regulating the use of vapes while driving in Colorado.
However, the same laws apply to vaping as they apply in any other case and ultimately, it all comes down to safety.
A vape should only be used when driving if you feel it is safe to do so and that it does not cause any distraction or lapse in focus.
Is it legal to vape in a car with a child in Colorado?
Yes. It is against the law to use a vape in the presence of a child, regardless of the specific setting.
As a result, by default, it would be against the law to use a vape in any vehicle in which a minor is present.
Juul Pods in Colorado
What is the age to buy Juul pods in Colorado?
In the state of Colorado, you legally have to be at least 21 years old in order to purchase any vape related product, including juul pods.
As a result, it is an offence to purchase, attempt to purchase or use a vape if you are under 21 years of age.
Are flavoured juul pods legal in Colorado?
No. At the moment, it is illegal to sell any flavored vape product within the state of Colorado. The only flavors permitted are menthol and tobacco.
This ban includes flavored pods and cartridges.
The laws on vaping vary from state to state and even local area, so it’s worth checking the detail of each locality before using your vape.
Alabama Vaping Laws
California Vaping Laws
Florida Vaping Laws
Illinois Vaping Laws
Indiana Vaping Laws
Massachusetts Vaping Laws
Michigan Vaping Laws
Montana Vaping Laws
Nebraska Vaping Laws
New Hampshire Vaping Laws
New York Vaping Laws
Ohio Vaping Laws
Texas Vaping Laws
Utah Vaping Laws