The vaping industry has been growing rapidly over the past decade, and with it comes a new set of laws. In Illinois, there are many different rules that go into effect for vapers as well as those who sell vaping supplies.
The post goes on to discuss these laws in more detail including specific requirements for sellers and users.
Is it legal to vape in Illinois? Yes, it is legal to vape in the state of Illinois but there are restrictions and regulations that apply to their use.
These laws regulate things such as who can purchase vapes, where they can. Be used and what kind of vapes can be sold.
This article will clear up some of the questions that you might have relating to vaping in the state of Illinois.
Vaping Age in Illinois
What is the legal vaping age in Illinois?
In order to legally ape in the state of Illinois, you have to be at least 21 years old. The state law was changed in 2019, in line with the change in the federal law.
Before this change in the regulations, the legal age had been just 18 years old.
Can you buy a vape at 18 in Illinois?
No. The legal vaping age in the state of Illinois is 21 and it is therefore against the law to purchase a vape if you are under this age.
Although it used to be 18, the official age was lifted in 2019, in line with federal changes.
Can you buy flavored vape juice in Illinois?
No. In the state of Illinois, flavored vapes are officially banned with only menthol and tobacco being available for purchase.
The new law has been in effect since 2020 and breech of the laws could result in severe fines of between $1000 and $5000.
The regulation is careful about the terminology that it uses and offers an extensive and detailed definition about exactly what is classed as a ‘flavored’ vape.
Vaping Indoors in Illinois
Can you vape indoors in Illinois?
It depends on where indoors you want to use your vape because there are some restrictions to indoor use in the state of Illinois.
It is against the law to vape in any area where smoking is banned under the state’s Clean Indoor Air Act.
As a result, there are a few places where vaping is explicitly banned, these are as follow
- State-supported universities or higher education plus all related grounds, parking lots and institution owned vehicles
Additionally, certain localities within the state have also added their own regulations, so it is important for you to check before using your vape.
Vaping in Public Places in Illinois
Can you vape in public places in Illinois?
It depends. There are certain restrictions on where you can use you vape, with restriction applying to a number of indoor locations.
However, there is no consensus on outdoor public areas with the exception of outdoor university grounds, an area stipulated as having a smoking ban.
It pays to check the restrictions in the specific area before using your vape.
Vaping While Driving in Illinois
Is it legal to vape and drive in Illinois?
There are no specific restrictions regarding the use of vapes while driving in the state of Illinois.
However standard safety regulations always apply, meaning that you should only vape while driving if you feel that you are capable of doing so.
Is it legal to vape in a car with a child in Illinois?
No, itis against the law to vape in a car when a child is present.
This change was made in 2020, meaning that both vaping and smoking are now outlawed inside a car that contains a person under 18 years old.
Juul Pods in Illinois
What is the age to buy Juul pods in Illinois?
To purchase juul pods in the state if Illinois, you have to be at least 21 years old with the same age restriction applying to all kids of vape products.
The same age regulation also applies to traditional smoking.
Are flavored juul pods legal in Illinois?
No. In the state of Illinois, it is illegal to sell flavored vapes and it is therefore not possible to purchase them.
They were banned in 2020 with serious penalties being pledged for anyone caught selling them.
The laws on vaping vary from state to state and even local area, so it’s worth checking the detail of each locality before using your vape.
Alabama Vaping Laws
California Vaping Laws
Florida Vaping Laws
Illinois Vaping Laws
Indiana Vaping Laws
Massachusetts Vaping Laws
Michigan Vaping Laws
Montana Vaping Laws
Nebraska Vaping Laws
New Hampshire Vaping Laws
New York Vaping Laws
Ohio Vaping Laws
Texas Vaping Laws
Utah Vaping Laws