Michigan vaping laws are some of the most rigid vaping laws in the US. Michigan tried to become the first state to ban flavored vaping products but unfortunately, it did not come to a pass.
Vaping has seen a rising graph of popularity since it first became available. Its popularity brough fort numerous health concerns. Hence, laws and rules were placed on its purchase and consumption.
Is it legal to vape in Michigan? Yes, vaping is legal in Michigan. However, there are certain restrictions placed by the State regarding its display, sale, purchase, usage, age, etc.
These restrictions are placed in an effort to curb teen vaping.
This article explains the Michigan vaping laws to clarify some questions you might have.
Vaping in Michigan
What is the legal vaping age in Michigan? The State of Michigan has set the vaping limit at 18 years. Any person who is above 18 years of age can legally consume vaping products.
While the federal law stated that one has to be 21 years and up to purchase vaping products, the state of Michigan has not yet adopted the law and still allow for anyone 18 and above to purchase them.
Buying Vape in Michigan
How old do you have to be to buy vape in Michigan? A person above 18 years of age can buy vape in Michigan.
Sale of vaping products to persons under the age of 18 years is prohibited. It is also illegal for anyone under 18 to purchase/possess vaping products or to use it in a public place.
Even internet vendors much verity the purchaser’s age through a third-party service prior to the sale.
Can you buy a vape at 18 in Michigan? Yes, you can buy a vape at 18 in Michigan as of 15th June, 2021.
But, self-service display of vaping products is prohibited by the Michigan State laws.
Can you buy flavored vape juice in Michigan? Yes, as of now you can buy flavored vapes in Michigan.
During the second week of October, 2021, Michigan abandoned its two-year effort to ban the sale of flavored nicotine vaping products in favor of imposing 18% tax on flavored nicotine liquid and banning the products from being marketed towards minors.
The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) withdrew the rules which were aimed at permanently banning the sale and distribution of flavored nicotine vaping products.
Vaping Indoors in Michigan
Can you vape indoors in Michigan? While vaping indoors is theoretically legal in Michigan, most places might have their own policy regarding vaping indoors.
This is because the Michigan Clean Indoor Air Act has not been amended to prohibit the use of vaping products where smoking is prohibited.
Even though the state law does not make any pronouncements on the matter, local governments might ban vaping in bars and restaurants.
It is better to inquire in advance about the policies of the locality you wish to go to.
Vaping in Public Places
Can you vape in public places in Michigan? Yes, vaping is technically legal in most public places.
It is only in state and local government buildings, facilities of state colleges and universities, facilities licensed by Commissioner of Human Services, and facilities licensed by Commissioner of Health. All other indoor places subject to the Minnesota Clean Indoor Air Act, including bars and restaurants, are entirely exempt from the state’s regulation. Localities may regulate vaping more stringently than the state.
There might be places which explicitly do mot permit vaping. It is common courtesy to refrain from vaping in the presence of vulnerable people.
Vaping While Driving in Michigan
Is it legal to vape and drive in Michigan? There are no laws prohibiting vaping while driving. However, vape users must still consider existing laws on safety and distracted driving.
By taking certain precautions behind the wheel, vape users can greatly reduce hazards – and potentially keep themselves out of the crosshairs of concerned lawmakers.
Is it legal to vape with a child in a car in Michigan? It is illegal to vape with a child in the car or in any vehicles used to transport children.
It is also prohibited to vape in the presence of a child whether it be on child care center property or a private residence.
Juul Pods in Michigan
What is the age to buy Juul pods in Michigan? The age to buy Juul pods in Michigan is 18 years – the same as for buying any other vaping product.
This age restriction also extends to other tobacco products.
Are flavored Juul pods legal in Michigan? Yes, most flavored vaping products are legal in Michigan.
The state tried to ban all flavored nicotine products in 2019 but failed to do so.
The laws regarding vaping in the US change on crossing the border of every state. It is very necessary to assess and understand the rules and laws of your locality before starting to vape.
Alabama Vaping Laws
California Vaping Laws
Florida Vaping Laws
Illinois Vaping Laws
Indiana Vaping Laws
Massachusetts Vaping Laws
Michigan Vaping Laws
Montana Vaping Laws
Nebraska Vaping Laws
New Hampshire Vaping Laws
New York Vaping Laws
Ohio Vaping Laws
Texas Vaping Laws
Utah Vaping Laws