This article will tell you everything you need to know about vaping in the state of Montana. Many people still wonder how old you need to be to buy a vape or where you can legally buy one. Is vaping indoors prohibited? Is vaping and driving illegal? Information out there on the topic can be quite confusing. So we will try to clear everything up on the Vaping Laws in Montana.
Vaping in the State of Montana is legal under certain circumstances. The user must be 21 or older in age and more than 10 meters away from children’s play equipment in outdoor public places.
Vaping age in Montana
The legal vaping age in Montana is 21 years old. Possession or consumption of tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, or vapor products by persons under the age of 21 is strictly prohibited.
Vaping had gotten really popular in 2019 and received an insane amount of attention, that’s why states started enforcing legislation against it in an attempt to reduce harm among teens.WIth these legislations, they raised the minimum age requirement from 18 to 21.
Buying Vape in Montana
In order to walk in a store and buy a vape in Montana, you must be 21 or older. Buying vapes younger than 21 is illegal and could result in fines on both the seller and the buyer.
Tobacco/Vapor 21 Law: Federal law passed December 20, 2019, prohibits sales of all tobacco and vaping products to anyone under the age of 21 years old. If you are under 21 you will, unfortunately, have to wait until you are of legal age in order to start vaping.
You can not vape at the age of 18 in Montana. While this used to be the case, with the new Laws regarding vaping that came in 2019 the minimum age is 21 now.
Officials argue that people at 18 are still teens and vaping at that age could have detrimental consequences on their health. This made them pass laws to protect young people around the country.
Buying flavor vape juice in the state of Montana is legal as of 2021. The previous laws against it are no longer in place, and you can now legally buy vape juice with flavors.
While vaping flavor juice was indeed banned in the past, after protests from local business owners the law was revoked. After much debate, thirteen state senators and seven representatives signed a letter stating that the Department of Public Health and Human Services had no authority to enact legislation, which is the job of the State Legislature.
Vaping Indoors In Montana
Montana’s Clean Indoor Air Act has not been amended to prohibit the use of vapor products where smoking is prohibited. That means that you can vape indoors in Montana at places that it’s not prohibited.
Vaping indoors is legal in the state of Montana, as long as you are not inside a school zone. Vaping inside campus, libraries, high schools, and everything related is strictly prohibited by the law.
Vaping In Public Places In Montana
As long as you are over 21 and not in places that prohibit public smoking, you are legally allowed to vape in public places in Montana. However, vaping in school zones is prohibited, even in open spaces inside them.
There isn’t any law in place that makes vaping in public places illegal in the state of Montana, but you can’t smoke in places that are in school zones. That means that if you illegally decide to vape inside school zones you could be fined for doing so. Also, keep in mind that vaping within 10 meters of children is also prohibited in public places.
Vaping While Driving In Montana
It is legal to drive and vape in Montana. You need to be in full and proper control of your vehicle at all times, however. If you are not in full control of your vehicle while vaping then this can become a hazard for other drivers on the road.
Even though it is technically not illegal to vape and drive, make sure that it is not distracting you from being a careful driver. Having the windows open so the smoke does not fill up the car and lower your visibility, is always a good idea. With the amount of smoke, a vape produces a car can get filled up pretty quickly.
Vaping in the car with a child inside is legal in the state of Montana. As of 2021, no law has been enforced that states the prohibition of vaping with a minor inside of a car.
Even though vaping with a child in the car is not technically illegal, it is advised that if you do so, keep all of the windows open so the smoke can escape safely. An even better solution would be to not vape altogether for the trip since nicotine particles can still get trapped inside the car’s aerial space.
Juul Pods In Montana
The minimum age requirement to buy Juul pods in Montana is 21 years old. Since Juul pods fall under the category of nicotine products their minimum age requirement was raised from 18 to 21 years old back in 2019.
Juuls are a type of vape with nicotine in it. It comes in different flavors and has become pretty popular over the last few years. More specifically it has become a massive success among young people and many would even label this as a teen epidemic, and rightfully do so because the number of teens users has skyrocketed over the last years.
Flavored Juul pods are not legal in Montana since the law passed in 2019. Since then no change has happened regarding the ban, so it remains as is in 2021.
Flavored Juul pods became massively popular among teens, especially the mint flavor. Law legislators then took the initiative to ban flavored pods and only allow tobacco flavored ones to battle this epidemic.
In conclusion, vaping in Montana is legal as long as you are 21 or older and are not in a school zone or nearby children and minors.
Alabama Vaping Laws
California Vaping Laws
Florida Vaping Laws
Illinois Vaping Laws
Indiana Vaping Laws
Massachusetts Vaping Laws
Michigan Vaping Laws
Montana Vaping Laws
Nebraska Vaping Laws
New Hampshire Vaping Laws
New York Vaping Laws
Ohio Vaping Laws
Texas Vaping Laws
Utah Vaping Laws