Teens have turned to vaping now more than ever before. More and more teens take up vaping instead of regular cigarettes. One might argue that vapes are not as harmful as cigarettes, however, studies show that regular vaping can have tremendous health risks. Since the trend is particularly popular among teens, lawmakers in various states take measures to minimize their use among teens. This post discusses the laws and regulations surrounding the legality of their use and purchase in Nevada.
Is it legal to vape in Nevada? Yes, vaping is legal under Nevada state law. You can vape legally vape in Nevada as long as you are aware of the restrictions in place. The restrictions have to do with how old the person is and where and what vape products can be used.
Vaping Age in Nevada
What is the legal vaping age in Nevada? You must be 21 years old to legally use vapes in Nevada state. As Federal law changed the legal age to 21 on December 20, 2019, Nevada state followed suit fearing losing federal funding.
The reason behind raising the legal age to 21 is an effort by policymakers to reduce the use of vaping products among teens. You are not allowed to buy, transport, or use vapes if you have not reached the age of 21
Buying Vape in Nevada
How old do you have to be to buy vape in Nevada? You must be 21 years old to buy a vape in Nevada state.
The new age restriction came into force as the federal government raised the legal age to 21 years old on December 19, 2019.
According to the Nevada state law, you are strictly prohibited from selling/distributing vapor products to anyone under age 21. Since health risks have grown rapidly among those who use vaping products, lawmakers regulate the vapes to minimize health risks.
Can you buy vapes at 18 in Nevada? No, you cannot buy vapes in Nevada state unless you have reached the age of 21.
The sale of tobacco products such as cigars, cigarettes, and vaping products to anyone under the age of 21 is strictly prohibited in Nevada. You can only buy tobacco products if you are 21 years old or older.
A bill raising the legal age to 21 for buying vapes was passed by Nevada governor Steve Sisolak. Given the above, anyone is allowed to buy tobacco products if he or she is at least 21.
Can you buy flavored vape juices in Nevada? Yes, you can purchase vape juices in Nevada state.
Even though there is a federal ban on mint and flavored vape products that came into effect recently exempts most of the shops in Nevada from selling vape juices.
Currently, eight US states prohibit vape juice temporarily, including Michigan, Massachusetts, New York, Rhode Island, Oregon, Washington, and Utah. Because of legal challenges, these orders were stopped in Utah, New York, and Michigan.
Can you vape indoors in Nevada? Yes, you can use vapes indoors in Nevada, but it depends on where exactly. As of now, there are no regulations in place that prohibit vaping in private residential units in Nevada such as houses and apartments.
Keep in mind that you are not allowed to use vapes in places where smoking is prohibited. The new law just came into effect just last year in January. You should be aware of all non-smoking areas that might include schools, restaurants, and certain bars.
Vaping in Public Places in Nevada
Can you vape in public places in Nevada? Generally speaking, you can legally vape in public places in Nevada, but there are restrictions as to which venues.
According to the Nevada Clean Indoor Air Act, you are prohibited to smoke in most public places and workplace environments.
It is recommended that you avoid smoking or vaping in areas such as movies theaters and governmental buildings. Also, stay away from vaping near public schools and all college campuses.
Vaping While Driving in Nevada
Is it legal to vape and drive in Nevada? There are no laws that explicitly prohibit vaping while driving in Nevada, but you ought to be aware of road safety regulations.
Keep in mind, however, that vaping while driving can be risky. Vaping produces clouds of smoke that can influence your vision when driving. If you really have to vape and drive simultaneously, make sure to keep the driver’s window open so the cloud leaves the car.
Is it legal to vape in a car with a child in Nevada? You are legally allowed to vape in a car with a child in Nevada.
This is not to say that it is completely safe for the child. In fact, vaping in the presence of children can cause serious health issues. To avoid risks, you should always avoid vaping when children are nearby.
Only a few states prohibit vaping in the presence of kids. The documented health risks were so severe that policymakers introduced a bill to prohibit vaping and smoking in a car while children are around.
Juul Pods in Nevada
What is the age to buy Juul pods in Nevada? You are legally allowed to buy Juul pods in Nevada at 21 years of age. There are currently no laws in place to prevent anyone older than 20 to buy Juul pods.
You are not allowed to distribute/sell Juul pods to anyone younger than 21. The vapor products must be marked “vapor products” when being sold online. Also, a third party must verify that the customer is at least 21 years. As a retailer, you must always ask for proof of age.
Are flavored Juul pods legal in Nevada? You are allowed to buy Juul pods in Nevada. Keep in mind, you must be at least 21 years old to purchase them. Even though it is prohibited to buy pods and cartridges, you are still allowed to buy Juul pods because Nevada is exempted from the restriction.
Due to the federal government’s ban on flavored vapes, several US states have temporarily prohibited Juul pods.
In short, you are allowed to legally vape in Nevada as long as you are at least 21 years old and outside of non-smoking areas.
Alabama Vaping Laws
California Vaping Laws
Florida Vaping Laws
Illinois Vaping Laws
Indiana Vaping Laws
Massachusetts Vaping Laws
Michigan Vaping Laws
Montana Vaping Laws
Nebraska Vaping Laws
New Hampshire Vaping Laws
New York Vaping Laws
Ohio Vaping Laws
Texas Vaping Laws
Utah Vaping Laws