Undoubtedly, vaping causes many side effects, including addiction, mood disorders, and reduced impulse control. In addition, using vapes can also worsen symptoms of anxiety, hyperactivity, and depression. Reports on health risks do not seem to dissuade teens from taking up vaping. As a result, lawmakers in New Jersey have taken it upon themselves to help reduce vaping among teenagers. This post covers the regulations surrounding the use of vapes in New Jersey.
Is it legal to vape in New Jersey? Yes, you can legally vape under New Jersey state law. You must be aware of the restrictions in place, though. There are state laws in place that regulate the use of vapes across the state. Make sure you familiarize yourself with these laws before considering vaping.
Vaping Age in New Jersey
What is the legal vaping age in New Jersey? You must be 21 years old to use vapes in New Jersey state. Since Federal law amended the legal age to 21 on December 20, 2019, New Jersey state followed suit in avoiding losing federal funding.
Now that vaping is extremely trendy among teens, the health risks rise due to tobacco in the vapes. The lawmakers in Jew Jersey have restricted the use. They wish to minimize health risks caused by vaping. Which is why you are now prohibited to transport or sell vaping products under 21.
Buying Vape in New Jersey
How old do you have to be to buy vape in New Jersey? If you are under 21 years old, you cannot legally vape in New Jersey. However, you can purchase a vaping device at 18 but cannot legally vape. You must turn 21 to legally vape in New Jersey.
Even if you are 21 years old, you are not allowed to vape anywhere you wish. Anywhere where smoking is not allowed, you ought to avoid vaping. These restrictions are put in place by lawmakers to save teens from developing the habit of vaping. You should be aware that vaping is both addictive and harmful to your health.
Can you buy vapes at 18 in New Jersey? You cannot buy vapes in New Jersey at 18. In November 2017, the legislator passed a bill that changed the legal age to 21 years old. You must be at least 21 to use any tobacco products.
Policymakers in New Jersey believe that changing the minimum age from 19 to 21 will influence the use of vapes among teens. Many teenagers end up addicted to vaping. The amount of tobacco used in these devices can be surprisingly high and harmful to health.
Can you buy flavored vape juices in New Jersey? No, you cannot legally purchase vape juices in New Jersey state. New Jersey is among several other states that prohibit vape flavors. However, you can legally buy vape juices in many other states besides New Jersey.
Closed system devices such as cartridges and pods are prohibited under the federal law. This does not include menthol and tobacco. You can buy only tobacco flavors under New Jersey state law. Just last year, the New Jersey Gov. Murphy singed a bill which prohibits all vapors juices except tobacco.
Vaping Indoors in New Jersey
Can you vape indoors in New Jersey? Yes, you can legally vape indoors in New Jersey. This is not to say that it covers all sort of venues. You can legally vape in your own home or private property. You should be aware of other public places since you are prohibited from vaping in most of the public venues.
In 2006, New Jersey signed the law to ban smoking in indoor public places and workplace. In turn, by 2010, the state’s Smoke-Free Air Act followed suit to ban vaping in workplaces and public places. New Jersey was the first state to pass such a restriction regarding e-cigarettes.
Vaping in Public Places in New Jersey
Can you vape in public places in New Jersey?
You are prohibited to vape in most public places in New Jersey. In all places where smoking is prohibited, you cannot legally use vapes. This is covered under the statute: (N.J. Stat. §§ 26:3D-57).
In New Jersey, use of vapes or e-cigarettes falls under the definition of “smoking”. Since you are not allowed to vape anywhere where smoking is prohibited, you must avoid vaping in all those places. They might include workplaces, beaches, public parks and might include lodging establishments.
Vaping While Driving in New Jersey
Is it legal to vape and drive in New Jersey? As of now, no laws exist to prohibit you from vaping and driving in New Jersey. While you may choose to vape and drive, however, you should be mindful of state regulations regarding road safety in general.
Just as smoking and driving can be dangerous, so is vaping and driving. Vaping devices create clouds of smoke that can potentially blur your vision. You should avoid vaping while driving at all time to ensure the safety of everyone on board.
Is it legal to vape in a car with a child in New Jersey? It is illegal to vape in a car with a child in New Jersey. An act under the title “Chapter 4 of 39 Title of the Revised Statutes” explicitly prohibits smoking in the car while children are on board.
Besides New Jersey, only a handful of other states prohibit such an action. In New Jersey, if the child is 16 years old or younger, you are not allowed to vape or smoke in their presence. The state enacted this regulation to prevent the harmful effects that vaping can cause to children younger than 16.
Juul Pods in New Jersey
What is the age to buy Juul pods in New Jersey? While you must be at least 21 to buy any vaping products in Jew Jersey, the legislature signed a bill on January 21 to ban all vaping flavors including Juul pods.
You must be 21 or older to buy vaping products in Jew Jersey state. The bill singed on January 21 will be legally enforceable by April. Under the aforementioned regulations, no one can legally purchase any vaping flavors in- vaping cartridges, e-liquids, e-cigarettes, hookahs, and vape peens. This is according to the amended version of the statute passed in January.
Are flavored Juul pods legal in New Jersey? For now, you are legally allowed to buy Juul pods in New Jersey provided that you are 21 years old or older. You ought to be aware that Juul pods and all other flavors connected with e-cigarettes are to be banned in April.
While some states put temporary ban on vaping flavors, New Jersey plans to outlaw all e-cigarette flavors in coming months.
Finally, you are legally permitted to vape if you are 21 or older in New Jersey. You should be wary of the regulations in place to avoid legal consequences.
Alabama Vaping Laws
California Vaping Laws
Florida Vaping Laws
Illinois Vaping Laws
Indiana Vaping Laws
Massachusetts Vaping Laws
Michigan Vaping Laws
Montana Vaping Laws
Nebraska Vaping Laws
New Hampshire Vaping Laws
New York Vaping Laws
Ohio Vaping Laws
Texas Vaping Laws
Utah Vaping Laws