Given the fact that vaping has tremendous health effects on teens, states across the US are now issuing regulations to minimize their use among young adults. This post will cover laws in place that regulate vaping in New Mexico.
Is it legal to vape in New Mexico? Yes, you can legally vape in New Mexico. There are regulations in place regarding venue, age, and type of flavors that goes with vaping devices. Having said that, you must be aware of the laws in those regards so as to stay on the safe side.
Vaping Age in New Mexico
What is the legal vaping age in New Mexico? According to both Federal and State law, you must be at least 21 years old to legally vape in New Mexico. Mexico’s new regulation to set the age to 21 years old came into force on 01.01.2021.
Retailers are prohibited to sell you any tobacco or e-cigarette products if you are under 18 years of age. As more teens take up vaping, lawmakers restrict vaping products to minimize their use among teens.
Buying Vape in New Mexico
How old do you have to be to buy vape in New Mexico? You must be at least 21 years old to buy vapes in New Mexico. The amended regulation took place on January 1, 2021.
You are not allowed to distribute/sell vaping products to anyone under the age of 21. Also, you are prohibited from self-service displays of nicotine liquid and e-cigarettes unless you are 21 or older.
Can you buy vapes at 18 in New Mexico? No, you are not allowed to buy vapes at 18 in New Mexico. You can only legally purchase vaping devices at 21. You could legally purchase vapes at 18 last year. Now the state has introduced new age restrictions and you can only buy vaping products if you are at least 21.
Not only do state laws forbid vaping at 18 years of age, but also the federal government. The vaping products include vaping pens, e-cigarettes, and hookahs.
Can you buy flavored vape juices in New Mexico? You cannot legally buy flavored vape juices in New Mexico.Among other states that banned the juices are New York, Oregon and Michigan.
FDA prohibits fruit- and mint-flavored vaping devices except tobacco and menthol. The FDA is to ban flavored vape juices used in e-cigarettes.
The Food and Drug Administration allows retailers to sell juices from tank-based systems.
Vaping Indoors in New Mexico
Can you vape indoors in New Mexico? You can legally vape in certain indoor venues in New Mexico. While you may legally vape in your own property, it is prohibited to vape in public places where there is a “no smoking” sign.
In New Mexico, you are not allowed to smoke in movie theaters, restaurants and offices. You should avoid vaping in aforementioned venues. In addition, you are to avoid vaping in schools, college and university campuses.
Vaping in Public Places in New Mexico
Can you vape in public places in New Mexico? You cannot legally vape in public places in New Mexico. The state’s “Clean Indoor Air Act” enforced in 2007 forbids smoking in public areas and workplaces.
You should be aware that you can still legally vape in retail tobacco stores. However, they have to be situated in standalone buildings to permit vaping. Avoid vaping wherever you see “no smoking” signs.
Vaping While Driving in New Mexico
Is it legal to vape and drive in New Mexico? It is legal to vape while driving in New Mexico. There are no laws that prevent you from doing that. Even though it is not illegal to vape and drive, it is highly not recommended.
Even though driving and vaping or smoking is not illegal, you could be prosecuted for careless driving. Not only that but the clouds produced by vaping devices can ultimately impair your vision.
So, it is best to avoid vaping while driving.
Is it legal to vape in a car with a child in New Mexico? You are not allowed to smoke or vape in a car with a child in New Mexico. The state’s legislation passed a bill 2015 to prohibit parents and others from smoking in cars with children on board.
New Mexico is among the few states that prohibit smoking and vaping in a car with a child. Both smoking and vaping can cause tremendous health hazards to children under 16 years old. You should avoid smoking and vaping while children are around.
Juul Pods in New Mexico
What is the age to buy Juul pods in New Mexico? You are legally allowed to buy Juul pods in New Mexico at 18 years of age. Many states restrict the age to 21, Mexico might soon follow suit to make it 21.
Juul pods were introduced to New Mexico in 2015. You can purchase Juul pods from retail stores or online. Be aware that you must verify your age upon purchase. If you look younger, you will be asked to show your ID to buy Juul pods at stores in New Mexico.
Are flavored Juul pods legal in New Mexico? Yes, you can legally purchase flavored Juul pods in New Mexico. Keep in mind, you must be 21 years old to buy any vaping products.
Even though the federal law prohibits flavored vapes, you can legally buy Juul pods. While several states prohibited the sale of flavored Juul pods, you can still purchase them in New Mexico.
In short, you are allowed to legally vape in New Mexico as long as you are at least 21 years old.
Alabama Vaping Laws
California Vaping Laws
Florida Vaping Laws
Illinois Vaping Laws
Indiana Vaping Laws
Massachusetts Vaping Laws
Michigan Vaping Laws
Montana Vaping Laws
Nebraska Vaping Laws
New Hampshire Vaping Laws
New York Vaping Laws
Ohio Vaping Laws
Texas Vaping Laws
Utah Vaping Laws