Vaping devices and e-cigarettes are now more popular among teens than ever. All these devices use a considerable amount of nicotine which can be highly addictive. Not only are the vapes addictive, but also harmful to public health. In efforts to minimize the health issues, lawmakers across all states are struggling to dissuade teens from vaping. This post covers regulations passed by North Dakota authorities regarding vaping.
Is it legal to vape in North Dakota? Yes, vapes are legal in North Dakota. However, it is not so straightforward. There are state regulations in place regarding their use. You must be aware of North Dakota’s regulations regarding vapes before starting to vape.
Vaping Age in North Dakota
What is the legal vaping age in North Dakota? You are legally permitted to vape at 21 in North Dakota. This is based on both the state and federal law. It’s forbidden to vape if you are younger than 21.
You can legally purchase and vape at 21 in North Dakota. The federal government raised the legal age to 21 in december 2019. This is a direct action taken by the federal government to prevent teens from vaping.
Buying Vape in North Dakota
How old do you have to be to buy vape in North Dakota? You must be at least 21 years old to buy vapes in North Dakota. The amended regulation took place once the federal government raised the legal age to 21.
You cannot legally buy vapes in North Dakota if you are not at least 21 years old. If you sell or distribute them to anyone younger than 21, you will be held liable. Such are the strict state laws and you ought to abide by them.
Can you buy vapes at 18 in North Dakota? No, you are not allowed to buy vapes at 18 in North Dakota. You must be at least 21 to buy vapes in ND. Anyone selling or distributing vaping products can face legal consequences in North Dakota.
There was a confusion when the Congress raised the minimum age to 21 because under the Dakota state law, retailers sold tobacco to teens below 21 years of age. People were confused as to which law applied in that particular case. As of now, you can only legally buy e-cigarettes and vapes if you are at least 21.
Can you buy flavored vape juices in North Dakota? For now, you can legally buy vape juices in North Dakota. However, the state will ban the manufacture of flavored vape juices.
The state will pass the bill that can potentially ban flavored vape juices. The bill does not mention whether the flavored e-juices that contain tobacco will also be prohibited. You have to wait and see once the bill is passed by the legislator.
Vaping Indoors in North Dakota
Can you vape indoors in North Dakota? You can legally vape and smoke in certain areas indoors in North Dakota. These areas include private residences and property.
You must be aware that in any place where smoking is prohibited, vaping is prohibited, too. You are not allowed to smoke in places of employment and within close proximity to exits, windows, air, and intakes.
North Dakota residents support the statewide ban on vaping in enclosed spaces.
Vaping in Public Places in North Dakota
Can you vape in public places in North Dakota? You can legally vape in public places in North Dakota. This does not mean you can vape in every outdoor place. For example, you are not allowed to vape anywhere where smoking is prohibited.
North Dakota’s “Clean Indoor Air Act” prevents people from smoking in employment places, hotel rooms, bars and other governmental buildings. In addition, many restaurants, bars, and cafes have their own policies regarding smoking.
Vaping While Driving in North Dakota
Is it legal to vape and drive in North Dakota? You can legally vape and drive in North Dakota. North Dakota State has not passed any laws that prohibit vaping while driving. However, you must be careful when you vape and drive.
The vaping devices create huge clouds of smoke that can influence your vision. It might not be easy for you to see the road clearly when you are covered in smoke. It is recommended to never use vapes while driving.
Is it legal to vape in a car with a child in North Dakota? You are legally allowed to smoke or vape in a car with a child in North Dakota.
North Dakota’s legislation tried to pass a law that would ban drivers from vaping in the car if they have a child younger than nine. But the North Dakota’s House killed the legislation.
Only a few US states prohibit vaping in a car with children – Maine, California, Louisiana, Vermont, Utah and Arkansas.
Juul Pods in North Dakota
What is the age to buy Juul pods in North Dakota? You are legally allowed to buy Juul pods in North Dakota at 21 years of age. North Dakota is not the only state that has raised the minimum age to 21. Now that the health risks among those who vape have risen, most states set the minimum age to 21.
As a retailer, you are not allowed to sell or distribute Juul pods to anyone younger than 21. When buying Juul pods online, customers must verify their age.
Are flavored Juul pods legal in North Dakota? You are legally allowed to buy Juul pods in North Dakota. However, you must be at least 21 years old.
In 2020, New York, Rhode Island, and New Jersey passed bills to ban the sale of flavored vapes and California followed suit. Since the flavors make vaping more addictive, lawmakers are trying to ban them. Many teens who take up vaping struggle to quit due to the taste and excessive amounts of tobacco.
In conclusion, you are allowed to legally vape in North Dakota as long as you are at least 21 years old.