The vaping industry has taken off in the past few years, with many people finding it to be a better alternative than smoking cigarettes. With Texas having some of the strictest tobacco laws, does that mean vapers will have an easier time or more difficult time getting their products? This blog post will go over everything you need to know about current vaping laws in Texas. We’ll discuss both where and how Texans can purchase vape juice as well as what they are allowed to do with it once they get home.
Is it legal to vape in Texas? Yes, it is legal to vape in Texas if one is over the age of 21. However, if you are under 21 it is illegal to consume/purchase e-cigarette related merchandise unless you are in the army.
Vaping Age In Texas
What is the legal vaping age in Texas? The legal vaping age in Texas is 21 years old. If you are younger than 21 it is strictly prohibited to vape in the state of Texas. That does not include adults serving in the armed forces and those born before August 31, 2001.
Vaping was very popular and received insane attention in 2019 and as a result, the state began enacting legislation against Vaping to reduce the harm done to teenagers. These laws have raised the minimum age from 18 to 21. Officials argued that this law had the physical health of young people in mind.
Buying A Vape In Texas
How old do you have to be to buy a vape in Texas? You have to be 21 or older to buy a vape in Texas. The only exception to that would be people enlisted in the military and those born before August 31, 2001.
In order to be legally able to buy a vape in Texas, you have to be older than 21. If you are younger than that you won’t be able to step into a vape shop and if you try to enter one after an employee checks out your government ID, you may be subject to a fine. However, if you are in the army you still can.
Can you buy a vape at 18 in Texas? No, you can’t buy a vape in Texas at 18, unless you are an adult serving in the armed forces or born before August 31, 2001.
For the time being, if you are 18 years old and live in Texas, you can’t purchase a vape just yet, unless you are in the army. You will have to wait to become 21 first, to be able to buy one as a regular citizen. This decision was made by lawmakers to battle nicotine addiction amongst young people. Vaping had grown exponentially and action had to be taken to regulate it further.
Can you buy flavored vape juice in Texas? No, you can not buy flavored vape juice in Texas. Federal law prohibits the sale of system devices containing e-liquid in flavors other than tobacco, or menthol.
This law was passed because flavors in vapes made them even more appealing to young teens and thus raised their sales. Now you can only buy tobacco flavored menthol or mint ones.
Vaping Indoors In Texas
Can you vape indoors in Texas? Yes, you can vape indoors in Texas. The only exception is certain municipalities that have stated otherwise.
These municipalities have ordinances that prohibit vaping where smoking is prohibited (some exclude bars and restaurants): Atlanta (in parks), Austin, Bedford, Boerne, Bonham, Burkburnett, Denton, Desoto, Duncanville, Edinburg, El Paso, Frisco, Harlingen, Highland Village, Joshua, Lufkin, Nacogdoches, San Angelo, San Marcos, Seagoville, Sherman, Socorro, Southlake, Tyler, Waco, Weatherford, Waxahachie, Wichita Falls.
Vaping In Public Places In Texas
Can you vape in public places in Texas? Yes, you can vape in public places in Texas. Currently, there are no state-wide restrictions on the use of vapes in public places except Atlanta.
If not explicitly stated otherwise through signage, you can vape in public places in Texas. Vape smoke gets dissolved into the air and thus doesn’t harm anybody else in big open spaces.
Vaping While Driving In Texas
Is it legal to vape and drive in Texas? Yes, it is legal to vape and drive in Texas. However one needs to be careful and be able to drive without putting his own or others’ lives in danger.
While technically speaking there are no laws in place right now, that prohibit vaping and driving, you should make sure you are able to before you try it. Driving with one hand is not the best idea, and could possibly be a safety hazard, so be careful.
Is it legal to vape in a car with a child in Texas? No, it is not legal to vape in a car with a child inside in Texas.
Vaping with a car inside is not advised, and is illegal in the state of Texas. Nicotine air particles could get trapped inside and cause harm to minors. Other than the harm that could occur to the child, a police officer could issue a fine if caught.
Juul Pods In Texas
What is the minimum age to buy Juul pods in Texas? The minimum age to buy Juul pods in Texas is 21 years old. If you are younger than 21 it is only legal to buy if you are in the army.
Many still consider the age of 18, to be a teenager, so the law is in force to prevent young people from becoming addicted to e-cigarettes. As vaping became more popular among teenagers, this law was created to make vaping as safe as possible for everyone.
Are flavored Juul pods legal in Texas? Flavored Juul pods are not legal in Texas. After 2019 all sales of flavored Juul pods were prohibited and only tobacco or menthol-flavored pods were allowed to be sold.
Juul pod flavors were a bestseller for teens. To reverse the e-cigarette epidemic for teens, a law has been passed that reduces the profitability of e-cigarettes on young people and discourages them from this habit. The law came into force in 2019 and has been in force ever since. There have been no changes yet.
Purchase or possession of vapor products by persons under the age of 21 years old in Texas, is strictly prohibited unless possession occurs in the presence of “adult parent,” guardian, or spouse exempts adults serving in the armed forces and those born before August 31, 2001.
Alabama Vaping Laws
California Vaping Laws
Florida Vaping Laws
Illinois Vaping Laws
Indiana Vaping Laws
Massachusetts Vaping Laws
Michigan Vaping Laws
Montana Vaping Laws
Nebraska Vaping Laws
New Hampshire Vaping Laws
New York Vaping Laws
Ohio Vaping Laws
Texas Vaping Laws
Utah Vaping Laws