The vaping industry is a hot topic, with many states fighting to make their own laws about how people can vape. The state of West Virginia has recently made some big changes to the way they feel about vaping. The new laws are not as strict as other states, but there are still precautions you should keep in mind if you plan on vaping while visiting or living in this state.
Is it legal to vape in West Virginia? Yes, it is legal to vape in West Virginia if one is over the age of 21. However, if you are under 21 it is illegal to consume/purchase e-cigarette related merchandise.
Vaping Age In West Virginia
What is the legal vaping age in West Virginia? The legal vaping age in West Virginia is 21 years old. If you are younger than 21 it is strictly prohibited to vape in the state of West Virginia.
Vaping was very popular and received insane attention in 2019 and as a result, the state began enacting legislation against Vaping to reduce the harm done to teenagers. These laws have raised the minimum age from 18 to 21. Officials argued that this law had the physical health of young people in mind. Nicotine addiction is a serious problem that can lead to health complications if left untreated.
Buying A Vape In West Virginia
How old do you have to be to buy a vape in West Virginia? You have to be 21 or older to buy a vape in West Virginia. This is due to a new law that passed in 2019 regarding the minimum age requirement to vape.
In order to be legally able to buy a vape in West Virginia, you have to be older than 21. If you are younger than that you won’t be able to step into a vape shop and if you try to enter one after an employee checks out your government ID, you may be subject to a fine.
Can you buy a vape at 18 in West Virginia? No, you can’t buy a vape at 18 in West Virginia. The sale or distribution of electronic nicotine delivery systems to persons under age 21 is illegal.
For the time being, if you are 18 years old and live in West Virginia, you can’t purchase a vape just yet. You will have to wait to become 21 first, to be able to buy one. This decision was made by lawmakers to battle nicotine addiction amongst young people. Vaping had grown exponentially and action had to be taken to regulate it further.
Can you buy flavored vape juice in West Virginia? No, you can not buy flavored vape juice in West Virginia. Federal law prohibits the sale of system devices containing e-liquid in flavors other than tobacco, or menthol.
This law was passed because flavors in vapes made them even more appealing to young teens and thus raised their sales. Officials took the initiative to ban flavors in an attempt to slow the epidemic down. Now you can only buy tobacco or menthol-flavored ones.
Vaping Indoors In West Virginia
Can you vape indoors in West Virginia? Yes, you can vape indoors in West Virginia. West Virginia’s clean indoor air Act has not been amended with the exception of certain municipalities.
The following municipalities have ordinances that prohibit vaping where smoking is prohibited (some exclude bars and restaurants):
Barbour County, Berkeley County, Brooke County, Calhoun County, Grant County, Greenbrier County, Hampshire County, Hancock County, Lewis County, Marshall County, Mason County, Mercer County, Mineral County, Monroe County, Morgan County, Nicholas County, Ohio County, Pleasants County, Preston County, Randolph County, Ritchie County, Roane County, Taylor County, Tucker County, Upshur County, Webster County, Wirt County, Wood County, Wyoming County.
Vaping In Public Places In West Virginia
Can you vape in public places in West Virginia? Yes, you can vape in public places in West Virginia.
Unless explicitly stated that vaping is prohibited in the specific public place you are currently in, then you can vape freely there.
Vaping While Driving In West Virginia
Is it legal to vape and drive in West Virginia? Yes, it is legal to vape and drive in West Virginia. However one needs to be careful and be able to drive without putting his own or others’ lives in danger.
While technically speaking there are no laws in place right now, that prohibit vaping and driving, you should make sure you are able to before you try it. Driving with one hand is not the best idea, and could possibly be a safety hazard, so be careful.
Is it legal to vape in a car with a child in West Virginia? No, it is not legal to vape in a car with a child in West Virginia.
Vaping in a car with a child inside is not advised, and is illegal in the state of West Virginia. Nicotine air particles could get trapped inside of the vehicle, even if one was driving with his windows open.
Juul Pods In West Virginia
What is the minimum age to buy Juul pods in West Virginia? The minimum age to buy Juul pods in West Virginia is 21 years old. If you are younger than 21 it is illegal to purchase any type of e-cigarette.
Many still consider the age of 18, to be a teenager, so the law is in force to prevent young people from becoming addicted to e-cigarettes. Addiction to nicotine can happen at very fast paces. As vaping became more popular among teenagers, this law was created to make vaping as safe as possible for everyone.
Are flavored Juul pods legal in West Virginia? Flavored Juul pods are not legal in West Virginia. After 2019 all sales of flavored Juul pods were prohibited and only tobacco or menthol-flavored pods were allowed to be sold.
Juul pod flavors were a bestseller for teens. To reverse the e-cigarette epidemic for teens, a law has been passed that reduces the profitability of e-cigarettes on young people and discourages them from this habit. The law came into force in 2019 and has been in force ever since. There have been no changes yet.
Vaping in West Virginia is allowed if you are 21 or older, flavored pods, however, are not in sale anymore, so if one chooses to vape in the state of West Virginia, he will have to use tobacco or menthol-flavored vaping juices.
Alabama Vaping Laws
California Vaping Laws
Florida Vaping Laws
Illinois Vaping Laws
Indiana Vaping Laws
Massachusetts Vaping Laws
Michigan Vaping Laws
Montana Vaping Laws
Nebraska Vaping Laws
New Hampshire Vaping Laws
New York Vaping Laws
Ohio Vaping Laws
Texas Vaping Laws
Utah Vaping Laws